CAD help

Chorky

Observer
Anyone either 1) willing to do some cad workup drawings for me to help visualize some ideas I have, or 2) have any recommendations for free and easy cad programs I can possibly try myself if not able to source any assistance?

NatersXJ6

Explorer
If you have zero CAD experience, google sketch up is free and popular.
I have limited CAD experience and find sketch up to be annoying, as it is a drawing program more than a precision design program, but it is really hard to compete with SolidWorks or any of the Auto Desk products on the cheap. Sketch up probably does half or more of the drawings you see in this forum.

IdaSHO

IDACAMPER
Sketchup is free and pretty easy, and is awesome for knocking out concepts.

I've used it quite a bit.

43375618425_87a14cc5bc_b.jpg

43424152294_af6571079f_z.jpg

43382485575_2c7254c670_b.jpg

48628221398_af8c7a69b1_b.jpg

Chorky

Observer
does sketchup give capability for dimensions, so if I have a specific length/width to work with with known component sizes to see what actually fits? I'm assuming it would at least have some sort of measure tool?

85_Ranger4x4

Draftsight when it was free was awesome, as of the first of the year it is like $150/yr though. Nanocad isn't bad for a freebie.

I tried sketchup, I think it is more of an architectural thing. I used autocad in school (high school and college mechanical drafting) so autocad knockoffs feel more like home to me. Trying to draw parts with sketchup just drove me nuts. You can do dimensions though (it isn't like MS Paint where you just doodle stuff)

Last edited:

Chorky

Observer
Yeah I just realized the cost of sketchup. Not sure its worth the money to me for a couple of small projects when I can still just use graph paper... I was hoping it was one of them freebie ones.

85_Ranger4x4