Yet another 3rd Gen Montero "Build", also story time!

eyehate

The Full Monty:
Starting with a bone stock 125k mile silver 2003 3rd gen Montero Limited. This thread will house my breaks, fixes, frustrations and triumphs.
received_10213194445084476_zpsoophtutq.jpeg

received_10213194443884446_zpskczu5kjy.jpeg

The History:
To start, I come from the performance car world (10 years of drifting and 2 seasons of Formula Drift to be specific). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Mt6uCk2ZOw
I have little experience building anything for offroading / overlanding except for my stock jeep Cherokee (that we drove absolutely everywhere) which was sold for this here unit. The wife and I love camping, and hopefully this will make things easier.

The First Adventure:
20170605_201608_zpshcfaleir.jpg

We bought it and immediately put it through the ringer. Checked the coolant and oil and off we went to Red River, New Mexico's "Goose Lake". Bald all season tires and all. It includes a river crossing followed by 10 miles of trail, going up almost 1300 feet to a lake. Not a hard trail, but by far not the easiest.

I chose this one as the first outing, as A) The Jeep more than likely would have made it, and B) I knew that guides run these trails twice a day in case we broke down or any other number of issues taking a car we just bought 10 miles off grid.