which bike for around town?

michaels

Explorer
so i'm looking into getting a bike this summer. i'm a college student and have some money maturing soon that i put away a few years ago. obviously, i'm going to spend it. :wings:

now, i don't want to blow it ALL, but i do want a motorcycle. what should i look for? it's main uses will be for around town, so it will be street legal. i'm looking for something to offset the cost of gas for my rover.

BUT, it must be good for offroad too. i'm moving to the black belt of alabama next semester to build homes for the less privileged(http://www.cadc.auburn.edu/rural-studio/), and there are a lot of woods around to play in.

so what should i look for? obviously, a KTM would be b*tchin', but it MAY be out of my price range.

i'm looking to spend less than $1000, but will go up to $1500, MAYBE $2000, for the right bike.

cheers,
stricklin

rynosurf

Adventurer
My first choice for a bike on a budget would be a street legal XR, but if you are not going to be driving much on the highway a tw200 would be a good bike.

blatant

Adventurer
yeah unfortunately I don't think that's a ktm budget, and if you can find a ktm in that range you should definitely NOT buy it. Tw sounds right, klr maybe or an xr.

michaels

Explorer
thanks for the sugestions... to be more specific, i'm looking for basically a dirt bike that i'll make street legal. don't really want a "tourer" or something like that.

J*C*M

Traveller
Street legal XR, you should be able to find a XR600, maybe a XR650, in that price range, they are easy to work on, fun to ride, and great on gas.

michaels

Explorer
Street legal XR, you should be able to find a XR600, maybe a XR650, in that price range, they are easy to work on, fun to ride, and great on gas.

what year? and where should i look? i've only seen those in the $3000-$4000 range.

jkam

nomadic man