Where to service drum brakes on 1989 MB 1017A?

gvvaughan

Thanks for the manuals link. Purchased! I don't have a windows machine, but I have some intel macs in the loft which I can probably get Windows installed onto, and in the worst case any decent shop will have suitable laptops that can run it. Super useful :)

I'm also far from a mechanic, but I do most of the non-electrical work on my own motorcycle and pickup (often with the aid of youtube)... part of the attraction of a non-electronic vehicle is that I will be able to learn my way around it and do maintenance myself. At least once I have space to work on it and have collected the necessary tools.

Back to the brakes: hopefully it is something not prohibitvely expensive, but probably more than a spring since everything rides great even up to highway speeds as long as I don't touch the brakes. With luck it will be a bent shoe and not need the drums replaced, but thats to everyone else on this thread I found an enthusiastic shop who have a fenced yard to hold the truck while waiting for parts, and a reputable tow company to get it there. I've been using Eurotech to import air filters, oil filters and even a replacement for the cracked windshield, and they've been awesome - so it's only the wait and the cost I'll have to swallow.

Thanks for the air brakes info too. This is the first vehicle I have driven, let alone owned, with an air brake system so all of that is totally new to me -- save the previous owner talking me through the startup procedure and recommending depressing the saftey valves to blow some air out of the tanks after parking to minimize condensation and rust.

And extra gratitude to everyone who replied on this thread... I've gone from despair at having no idea how to get past my truck being stuck at a shop who don't really know how to or want to get everything working, to excited to have the info and contacts to get back on the road. Thank you all so much!

Blowby