Where is the Oil Pressure??

PaydayGabe

I recently completed a complete top end/ timing service on my Monty Sport 3.5L.
In my continuing OCD service I elected to do a compression test to compare before and after numbers. Currently the numbers are hovering around 130psi.
I placed a manual oil pressure gauge on the engine and during the testing process I never got oil pressure... whatsoever.
Yes , there is fresh oil in the crankcase. So, , do I need to prime the oil pump somehow or continue cranking?
The last thing I need at this point are fried engine bearings .
Any information is greatly appreciated.
Have a great Veterans Day. G.

evomaki

Observer
Greetings PaydayGabe, I suspect you have not received a reply because nobody wants to give wrong advice about priming an oil pump. So with the caveat that I am not an expert in this area, and I'm interested myself: If you've not had the bottom end apart (you reference a top end service only, heads off?), I don't see any need for anything special. I generally don't know that a starter motor (what would that be 120rpm?) is enough to build significant oil pressure compared to the engine idling itself at roughly 750rpm. I know some engines need their oil pump primed after rebuild and before start up. Have not heard about that with the 6G74.

PaydayGabe

Thanks for your replies Gentlemen.
I have the manuals on my phone, no indication of a priming procedure??
When I was in the industry, we would load new oil pumps with heavy oil or grease to aid the priming process...

Yes, the heads and full timing/ idlers, tensioner/ water pump, everything. The bottom was left alone. No issues with that thank god, 149+k miles.
My trepidation is the current investment and not wanting to destroy my "almost" new engine. Granted, 120rpm may not be enough to pull the oil, but something should happen.??