What about the GM 8.1 Vortec?

T.Low

Expedition Leader
Found a 1 ton rig I like. Price is good, private party seller, custom set up is perfect for me, and rare, and expensive to duplicate, original owner that I do not know personally. It has a stock original '02 8.1 liter Vortec in it at 91,000 miles. I have no experience with this rig, and my AstroLander is the first GM I've owned since my '72 El Camino and a '63 Biscayne.

Reviews are saying it will indeed pull the house off the foundation, but at the expense of very bad mpg and a quart of oil per 3k mi. month. Ring problems that GM will not admit to.

I'll pull a 4500lb rv twice a year, and generally drive the heck out of the rig for work 90% of the time, about 25k mi/yr. Therefore, I estimate it will have 140-150,000 miles on it in two years from now, possibly 200k in four years. I would probably get a 4yr loan on it, and my company truck allowance would cover the payment, ins., and gas.

I could go as cheap as a used 2wd 1/2 ton, or even a used Dodge Caravan...but I feel life is too short to drive vanilla. :smiley_drive:Especially if I'll be in the darn thing as my mobile office 8 hrs a day, 25,000 miles a year.

Is he selling it because at 91k, it's time for it to get expensive to maintain? I'd offer more details, but I'm sort of afraid someone might buy it out from under me while I'm himmin and hawwin.

Please let the opinons fly fast and furious and I will sort them out.:ylsmoke:

Thanks guys.

dirtyweekendrig

It depends..... if you don't mind paying truck loads of money on gas, buy it. But if I was in the marked for a tow rig and if it didn't have to be a 4WD I would get a Duramax instead of the 8.1L anyday. Then again I don't know how much is the truck you're thinking about buying.

chasespeed

Explorer
Well, if they are paying for gas... I say... why not? thats a 496ci engine, and a monster... I would prefer a diesel personally... BUT... I would certainly enjoys its 340hp......