Update Me on D-STAR

SmoothLC

Explorer
A question that I'm hoping someone might answer or get some feedback on. A friend of mine recently purchased an Icom ID-52A and is getting pretty excited about D-STAR. He's also got a couple Icom mobile units - one for his truck and another for his office - all within the last year or so. A few years back I got a Kenwood TM-D710G for my rig, primarily b/c it was analog (screen doesn't freeze over at 20 below) and the D-STAR infrastructure around the state (UT) and nearby states wasn't very predominate. My friend does a lot of trail riding on two wheels. Can anyone update me on how prevalent D-STAR is and your experience with it? TIA

wirenut

Adventurer
I have no experience with it. I do keep up with "local" repeaters and VHF/UHF around VA and WV. There is very little DSTAR infrastructure here. I can only think of maybe 2 repeaters in about 100 mile radius of my house which is my regular area of travel. This includes western VA and eastern WV. By far the more prevalent digital mode around here is Yaesu Fusion but I think that's mostly because they were practically giving the repeaters away. There are lots of repeaters that are capable of Fusion traffic and had some when first installed. Now, most of them only get used in analog.
There was a guy who had DSTAR rigs for he and his wife who is also a ham. They had the bluetooth board in them so they could connect with their phones. They could send text messages between their phones thru the DSTAR radios that were on simplex.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
There's 29 D-STAR repeaters in Utah out of 352 total listed in the repeaterbook database.

Compare that to Yaesu Fusion (19) and DMR (12). So there's some infrastructure you could use.

I have a DMR radio personally since that's more prevalent in Colorado (51 of 404 total listed) compared to D-STAR (17). Fusion has 22 repeaters listed in CO.