Unimog U1300L 435 1986 - Restore to former glory & add custom camper

Simon dix

Hello to Unimog enthusiasts, owners and others who take interest. It has taken me a while to become a member but I was waiting until I owned a Unimog otherwise I would have loitered in a way. Instead I have gone through or followed various threads and one that stands out in my mind was by Iain in Australia who converted his U1250 into a precision camper in and out. Another stand out was a guy in the US (Hodakaguy) who did his Mog up with his dad and sold it......serious craftsmanship!!

I have recently bought an ex-army 1986 U1300L. I am now living and working in Singapore where I stumbled across the beautiful machine. Axle ratio fast, 5 ton hydraulic rear mounted Werner winch, 8 forward, 8 reverse (2 crawler gears), OM366A, Turbo charged engine, Body type no. 2, Ringfeder trailer hitch. Not sure really what else to say about her as I am no expert on these off-road machines. I just know from what others have said that the engine and fast axles will be a big advantage?

I left school in Zimbabwe in 1998 and went to UK for 10 years. The grey clouds forced me to get a 1-year holiday visa in Australia and that’s where I call home now. My goal is to make sure Mogone (My name for my Unimog), Bushbaby (this is what my wife calls her) is done up as a unique camper so that she is compliant with Queensland rego.