Trucks with well over 4000# payload...

WindFromTheWest

I'm feeling like a total newbie, and getting slightly overwhelmed with the lack of trucks available right now, which has caused me to broaden and change my search several times. I am prepping to build my own aluminum mini earth roamer style camper on the back of a pick up, however I seem to be having trouble narrowing down which models of trucks have a high enough payload capacity and are within my budget of about 50k Canadian Dollars (Located in BC)
Originally I had my heart set on a diesel, but they certainly have a higher upfront cost and are generally less available around here right now, so I have broadened my search to gas trucks as well.
Basically if anyone has any advice on specific models I should search for, it would help me out greatly! Trucks are definitely not my specialty, I'm just some dumb welder ;) Looking to learn a few things during my build and become a much more self sufficient woman.
I know the Ambition Strikes camper is on a Dodge 3500 Cummins, and Andrews' Muse Roamer is on a Ford f-450 6.0L.. which is a hot topic on its own I'm sure.

Tex68w

Beach Bum
For that kind of payload you'll be looking at a one-ton or larger so a Ford 350/450 or RAM 3500/4500. I have a single cab long bed RAM 3500 with the Cummins Turbo Diesel and 3.73 rear end and it has a payload of over 4600lbs. Depending on the axle ratio and engine choice you can get the 3500 with a payload of nearly 7700lbs. The gasser 6.4L Hemi can be loaded up pretty heavy and will run you $9K less than the standard output Cummins. There's a build going on right now in this subforum with a new Hemi 3500.

john61ct

Adventurer
Why aren't you also mentioning GMC / Chevy midsized?

I'm looking for the 8.1L gasser to pull a 14K pound GVW trailer. . .

Tex68w

Beach Bum

Because they are trash!