Trouble searching.... DC to DC charger for larger battery banks

javajoe79

Fabricator
Looking at different chargers and it seems that most are limited to 200amp/hr battery banks. What is everyone using for larger battery banks? Are you using two or more chargers?

DiploStrat

Expedition Leader
???

With the usual caveat to be sure that you really need a DC to DC charger ...

My 40A REDARC works well with my 600Ah battery bank and Sterling Power has models up to 100A.

In the end, the highest output is going to be a direct connection to a 200A+ alternator, again, assuming the correct voltages, no Euro low voltage weirdness, etc.

javajoe79

Fabricator
I guess I'm not good at google. I did look at the 40a Redard and it said it's for up to 200ah banks. I will have 425ah house batteries with solar. I wonder why they rate them at 200ah if they can work on much more than that. I also don't know enough to know why the battery bank size would matter. Is it just because a huge battery bank would take forever to charge?

john61ct

Adventurer
Sterling, BB series.

Easy to stack as needed for greater amps.

Charles says a 180A and 240A coming, one day.

BBW is OK, but not fully adjustable, so stick with BB for future proofing.

Excellent kit, great support worldwide.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
I think you may be perhaps reading it wrong. Redarc recommends the 40A BCDC1240D specifically for banks over 200 A-hr and the smaller BCDC1225D 25 A for for those under.

https://www.redarc.com.au/dual-input-40a-in-vehicle-dc-battery-charger

"As a guide, the BCDC1240D is used for battery bank sizes over 200AH. For smaller batteries of 75-200AH REDARC recommends the BCDC1225D."