TrekTaco Build Thread - "Tuesday"

RoninWanderer

Definitely lost.... ?
Overview

I’m an Industrial Designer in the outdoor and travel market with a wife and a two-year old son. We love being outdoors and love to travel.

Our previous vehicle was a 2010 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, a 2-door JK with long arms and long-travel. That machine was built for crawling technical trails and I loved the rock gardens! Once our son was born, we decided that we wanted a vehicle which was more focused on our family overland trips. We have ambitious plans over the next few years that include long-stretches of backcountry throughout the Americas. The Toyota Tacoma TRD Off-Road was an easy choice for our needs; it’s reliable, comfortable and capable. We shopped the 3rd Gen’s and, as awesome as they are, we decided to go with a clean, low-mileage 2nd Gen instead. Mechanically, there was little difference to me and the reliability of the 2nd gen has been proven. The money we saved by our purchase is getting put towards, in my opinion, much better use later in our build!

Requirements

• Reliable - we didn’t want to touch anything mechanical unless it was necessary as I am no mechanic and we like big miles.
  • Lightweight is essential in any travel, IMHO. Wherever possible, we are trying to cut back on weight and still keep to the intended build/purpose.
  • Comfortable as a daily driver and grocery-getter and can camp our family of 3 for up to 2-weeks without resupply in the backcountry. We have plans to spend up to 6 months at a time in the truck, in the future.
  • Capable on technical trails. I like the hard-lines and will often take a more difficult approach to test my skills and to push the truck’s capability. The 2-door Rubicon had set the bar very high.
  • Has ample cargo room to carry gear, toys and a lot of backpacks (I design, make and, sell them).
The Vehicle