Total Composites flatbed build

andy_b

It seems like this is getting to be a little played out, but hey, maybe we're all onto something...

I've been planning on doing this for a while now and finally got the blessing from the Minister of Recreation (aka - the Wife). Initially I was going to just post a summary build thread once the truck was done, but I realized that since I've never done this before, having input from the peanut gallery might be helpful.

We wanted a true four season camper with heat, hot water, and a queen sized bed. The limitations associated with a pop top camper outweighed its few benefits so a hardside was the best option for our needs. We also chose a flatbed instead of a slide-in after similar considerations. Finally, regarding truck vs vans, while #vanlife is so hot these days, I think that trucks overall are less expensive, safer offroad, and easier to work on.

Keeping the camper itself simple (and cheap) eliminates fancy pants stuff like GXV, EarthRoamer, Overland Explorer, et al.

That left us with true DIY (foamie stuff, making my own panels, plywood, etc), Total Composites, Boxmanufaktur. I have neither the time or space to truly build my own. I have been following Total Composites for some time. Andreas has been super helpful has made the process super easy. Initially, I was going to have the box made, but that ended up being more hassle than it was worth.

Andreas (really) at Boxmanufaktur was fantastic to work with and the cost of the box was surprisingly affordable. A shell with queen sized cabover and approximately 8' floor length (approximately 16' overall) was around $30,000. They could deliver to my house for around $2000. For less than $40,000, we could have had a nice German-built composite box on a flatbed. The only problem - they are about a year out from delivery. I am waaaay too impatient for that.