Tie rods and rack bushings

I was informed on Friday by the mechanic doing my front end alingement that I need new rack bushings and a left tie rod. The parts from them was about 120.00 and labor was 230.00:Wow1: So what has everyone been using for parts? I have no intention of having them install any thing. I am willing to spend a little more on parts and do the work my self. I know poly rack bushings are available just not sure of the brands or venders. Be sides how hard could this be to do I am a capable mechanic and at 230.00 for labor I can screw it up twice and still do it cheaper.

seanz0rz

Adventurer
im going to assume you mean a 95.5-04 taco.

poly rack bushings are available from many retailers, toytec lifts, wheelers offroad, etc. they are not available from toyota last i checked, you must buy an entire rack ($900+) they are a PITA to install. in addition to your normal socket set, you will need a 22mm deep socket. as usual, 6 point is preferred.

tie rod end is a piece of cake, i purchased mine from napa because it was an unexpected part to replace when i did my front end service. otherwise i would have ordered from toyota. cant beat those stock parts!

slomatt

Adventurer
I just put a set of poly steering rack bushings on my 2000 4runner last week using the parts from wheeler's offroad. Getting the rack out and removing the old bushings wasn't too difficult, for the bushings I used a combination of a big c-clamp and a mallet to work them out. The problem I ran into was re-installing the rack, it wound up being a major hassle. There are several "how to" articles on the internet that recommend re-installing the center bolt first. Based on my experience this is not a good process and only works if you leave out the washer on the driver's side, not a good idea.