Thinking of swapping my RTT for a swag.

Doc Fluty

My current thought process is to replace my current James Baroud RTT that is on my bed rack with something like a Pioneer Platform.

I would then sleep in a swag in the bed of my truck. My truck has a Retrax Pro rolling bed cover so I could store the swag in the bed while driving along with other items... but many things such as the maxtrax, storage boxes, shovels, and more could be put on the platform.

Doing this allows me to not have the RTT on my truck all year round. I'm a disabled veteran so it is not easy for me to get the tent on and off.

I do love my tent and it is super easy to open and close. It takes me less than a minute to open and maybe two to close. It is comfortable, kept me warm in the cold, and allowed a breeze when it was hot.. I just hate that weight and look up there all the time.

I thought about buying a cheap swag to try my theory out before i sell my RTT and commit. I also thought about putting the tent on a trailer but I've never towed before and that is a heckuva new expense.

let me know if you think I would regret the decision to sell my tent to buy a platform and swag.

xPlWDHL.jpg

Cruisn

Adventurer
I have a ARB double dome swag, I also had a standard ground swag in single size. both were great, kept me dry and comfy. I use the swag on short trips less that 2-3 days anything longer and I chuck the RTT tent on the wagon as over a longer period of time the RTT is more comfy, and you get the nightly breeze. I have a fabric RTT though so its a bit of work to pack up vs the swag.

my thoughts, get the swag if you only do weekend warrior gigs.

80t0ylc

Hill & Gully Rider