Thinking About an LR3

PJorgen

Desert Dweller
We recently moved to northern Nevada and my wife decided she wanted a Jeep Wrangler. After driving a couple she decided they were too noisy, too rough and too primitive. Based on that I think an LR3 might be what we want/need.

It would not be a daily driver, in fact it would be our fourth vehicle. We would use it primarily for back-county day trips and as a back up vehicle during the winter when there is snow on the roads. I'm a fairly good mechanic and do most of my own maintenance, not afraid to get my hands dirty.

So, a few questions:

Is the LR3 as capable off-road as a Wrangler?

Can I get one in reasonable condition for under $10K?

What should I look for and/or look out for when shopping for one?

Any years, models or features to avoid?

Thanks!

soflorovers

1) Yes, incredibly capable. The LR3's center locker and terrain response/TC in tandem with the air suspension make the truck quite maneuverable. Bonus if you find one with the HD pack (look for a full size matching spare). I'd say an HD LR3 with a Johnson Rod lift and some AT tires is just as capable as a Wrangler.
2) Yes, but it will take some searching. Plenty out there, but I recommend you find one with sub 100k miles for that price. They can be found.
3) Check that the previous owner addressed all the known issues: Air compressor (they all break regardless of age and miles - ask if replaced with AMK upgrade or Hitachi); lower control arm bushings (again, they all go bad); all diff and transmission fluids flushed (Transmission was supposedly a "sealed for life" unit...we all know how that goes); full service records. That last one is a catch-all, but these motors will easily do 250k+ miles with proper maintenance. Look for a truck that has had basic maintenance done on a schedule. You don't want one that went 15k intervals between changes.