The Bushbaby - Custom Offroad Trailer

timmysj66

Welcome to the Bushbaby trailer project!

This has been project I've been planning for over a year and I've been collecting the materials and every thing for the last 5 months. It was time to dive in!

Here is my value list: (I have the right to change my mind midway through! ;)

1. Must be able to go off the grid
2. All season camping capable
3. Matching wheel tracking and tire size to match my Land Cruiser. (Only need to carry on spare!)
4. No wood materials or anything that can rot (I just finished rebuilding an old shasta trailer.... yikes!)
5. Standing height inside (6ft)
6. Full Queen Mattress
7. Full interior Kitchen
8. Shower and composting toilet
9. Rear hatch for fun and to act as a toy hauler
10. Compact and east to haul with almost zero set up time.

Here we go!adventure trailer_Revised 3.4.22_Trailer look.jpg

Last edited:

timmysj66

Frame is welded! My welding skills are average... I'm super lucky to have a friend that is a professional welder to do the real import welding. :)

This is the steel I used for the frame. (You can see my cut list in the diagram below)
3 - 20'x2x3 (.120)
1 - 20'x3x3 (.188)
1 - 20'x2x2 angle (.120)

Fenders and wings_adventure trailer_Revised 5.10.22_Frame Overview.jpg67357975946__9BAA6DCA-D00C-4338-9720-9BB72235A24D.jpegIMG_1003.jpegIMG_9004.jpegIMG_9005.jpegIMG_9010.jpegIMG_9007.jpeg

Last edited:

timmysj66

My 1.5mm FRP showed up from Vetroresina the other day for the composite walls I'm going to build. 527 LB's shipped across the states was not fun, but super stoked to get it!

With 112ft x 8 ft, I tried my best to design my trailer size with minimal waste in materials as I could. We'll see what happens.IMG_8795 2.jpg

Last edited:

jwiereng

and 5 pages of math and 3 stressful days of pulling my hair out, I committed to 126" from the end of the hitch. Wee!