Tell me what you think?

Clay

Adventurer
I just got back from Baja and the Sea of Cortez and I took a whole bunch of pictures. I picked out some of the better ones and put together a page. If anyone cared to take a look and maybe critique me a little bit? I'd appreciate some feed back from those who know!

I've put them all here.

Thanks

Scott Brady

Founder
Cool shot: http://atlastrekker.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/humpback.jpg

You are doing some good blue light work (after sunset), but they are looking a bit underexposed. Are you using a tripod and letting the light soak in with a 20-30 second exposure?

danzante.jpg

For example, this is a really nice shot, but there appears to be enough light available to get better detail and exposure. ???

Overall, I can see good use of texture, composition, etc.

Wander

Expedition Leader
I'm no expert but one thing I noticed (and have to remind myself of constantly) is that the horizon is not level in several of the images. Take a few extra seconds and look at just the horizon through the lens to make sure it's level as the ground often is not and that throws off your tripod.

Clay

Adventurer
Thanks for the words so far.

With the shot above, I was using a tripod. The exposure was 1.6 seconds. That picture was taken at the beginning of the season and I've learned quite a bit since. That night I was on the beach playing with a new intervalometer watching the clouds roll by. It was a pretty sight. I was worried that a longer exposure would make the zodiac in the foreground not look as good.

As for the horizon, I constantly struggle with it. The main reason is, I work on the ship, and there is hardly ever a time when the thing is level. I can never use a tripod, either. Almost all of my shots are with out one, it seems. I will try and keep that in mind, though.