Tacoma Frame Questions

I have been driving a Subaru for the last 8 years and I am thinking about getting a Tacoma. I will be looking for a used model. I know this question has probably asked many times but what if any years are not impacted by the rusty frame issue? I will be generally looking for a 2007 or later truck. I have done some research but have not found any definitive answers.What is toyota's policy on used trucks and frame replacement ? I live in the rust belt where cars usually die from the underneath. Any links or information would be appreciated.

surlydiesel

Adventurer
Years affected are 1995-2008. In the rust belt, 95-2000 trucks were bought back by Toyota (I had a 1998 that Toyota paid me well for), the 2001-2008 trucks get a new frame and related parts.

Frankly, it depends where you live. I live in NJ and have lived in VT. A 5-10 year old vehicle here can be subjected to significant rust issues and you have to be very careful when buying a used vehicle. From what I've seen while traveling, I would not hesitate buying a 20yr old Toyota truck in Arizona, with faded paint. Of course I would do a thorough look at the frame and other parts but you just don't have vehicles crumbling to bits in the western part of the country.

For example. I was not actively looking to replace my 2001 Regular Cab Tacoma. It was in perfect mechanical shape, had a new frame installed 2 years ago by Toyota. I happened across a 2006, access cab 4cylinder 5spd 4X4 with only 73k on it and it actually had a fresh frame and related parts done in August of this year. I worked out a decent deal on the truck and I'm happy to have a truck with half the miles and significantly more cab space. I wouldn't even think about getting a 2001-2008 truck without the frame being replaced prior to buying it. That's on the east coast, in the rust belt. In the rest of the country, I would be less worried. I would not have bought the 2006 if it did not have the recent frame replacement.