Should I make the switch?

Brennan_Cox

For a while now I’ve been wheeling a decently built 08 tundra,about 150k miles, 37s,icons,armor,the usual. It was my first truck and what I’ve really learned to wheel in. However as much I love this giant gas guzzling yacht,as soon as I discovered the 80 series I immediately fell in love with every little piece of it and every part of me screams that I should drop everything and get myself in one. What do y’all think? Have any of you made the switch yourselves and if so do you regret it?

stubbspy

I have no experience with either of those platforms, but expect that the 80 will need more frequent maintenance and drink more gas.

Beyond that, I’d say base your decision on how much you actually need a truck bed!

MOAK

Adventurer
I’ve owned 5 pick ups in my time, all Fords. A 40 series LC, two jeeps, ( hence my online name which I have asked to change) and now an 80. I’ve had the 80 for six years and it is by far and away the best truck I have ever owned. I daily drive it, explore locally, and take a long tour of the western US every year. Find yourself a rust free truck. Don’t worry too much about mileage, mine has 302,000 miles and I wouldn’t hesitate taking it to Alaska and back. Google “Slee 80 series”. Christo has a very good article on what to look for when hunting for an 80. Fuel mileage? Do you really care? Last year I dumped a small pile of money into it. Pulled the head to replace worn valve stem seals, replaced worn main bearing seals, front & rear, rebuilt the heater core and installed a new radiator.. it’s all good now for another 200,000 miles or so.. if the bottom end ever goes I would consider the Cummins 2.8 swap.

Last edited:

tacollie

Glamper