Shade Awning

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
I've been using the Hannibal Awning (7') and enclosure for a couple of years now, and really like it. It is an expensive alternative, but the self supporting aspect is nice.

I've modified mine to fit on a couple of Yakima bars.

FYI...you're in Phoenix, right? If you'd like to give it a try....I bet we could fit it to the cruiser when you pass through Flagstaff....;)

-H-

njtaco

Explorer
http://www.dometicusa.com/awnings.php?product=39

This is by A&E, available at RV dealers and Camping World. Not the most durable, but the legs can either drop to the ground, OR bracket to the vehicle. Available in a variety of lengths.

For what you are doing, as I understand it, for shade I would use a pack cloth "tarp" with a couple of poles, ropes, and stakes. By pack cloth I mean the nylon (I think) used for a tent fly. Even a poly tarp would work, with less moving parts, less weight, and less expensive than the awning. Pack cloth would be quieter in wind, though, if the kids, or you, are napping.;)

I use a green poly tarp 'cause it is cheap to replace, durable, and not "brightly" colored.

Last edited:

blupaddler

Conspirator
H,

I would be interested in seeing some pics if possible. That's really great you adapted it to fit the yakimas. Especially since I will be selling my full-length rack.

:D

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
Ok, this is how I mounted the Hannibal Awning to my rack, which can be used with standard Yakima bars too...

Kinda ghetto, but it works really well:

68886337-M.jpg

68886341-M.jpg

-H-

Scott Brady

Founder
Mario from Adventure Trailer uses a really slick awning. It is made in Italy and the legs slide into the roll, and are enclosed in an aluminum pod. I was pretty impressed with it. I also like the Hannibal unit, having seen the ringing endorsement from Graham.

elcoyote

Supporting Sponsor, Overland Certified OC0004