SEMA Transit 4wd Camper Van 1/2 way done with Sportsmobile Poptop, Quadvan 4x4, Aluminess, Extreme Outback, Scheel-Mann

Bikersmurf

Expedition Leader
Looking forward to following along with your build. I’m glad to hear your hospital is taking good care of you.

By trade I work in prosthetics & orthotics, and find it especially rewarding to help individuals overcome their challenges. Unfortunately I’m not able to do that work at this time for medical reasons and the hospital I’m working for hasn’t been at all supportive. In the meantime I’ll just have to live vicariously through what you are doing.

1leglance

2007 Expedition Trophy Champion, Overland Certifie
Put together a video on all the goodies that have recently arrived....
A crazy ring from 7P
2 air compressors, because why not
thermal camera (such a cool toy)
Method wheels
and more

mobydick 11

Just watched the video , its great . I will be following along . My wife has informed me that when she retires in a few years she wants a van , not my hillbilly trucks . I hear that Ford will have 4 wheel drive on the transit soon . that could save a lot on a build like yours maybe ? Thanks

1leglance

Just watched the video , its great . I will be following along . My wife has informed me that when she retires in a few years she wants a van , not my hillbilly trucks . I hear that Ford will have 4 wheel drive on the transit soon . that could save a lot on a build like yours maybe ? Thanks

The 2020 AWD Transit is just that, all wheel drive, which might be fine for many but I want a true 2 speed transfer case with Low Range like Quadvan builds.
In the desert southwest and Baja I do crawl over rocks and deal with trails where I want the control gearing gives.
I am going with 3.73 gears & lockers as the suspension won't have alot of flex and 33in tires are big on these vans :)

1leglance

Fail...yep first fail today but at least it saved me time and money.