RTT's and Large Breed Dogs - How Do You Cope?

Se7en62

Adventure Seeker
I'm new to RTT ownership and have learned the majority of what I know from these forums. Now I have a question for those of you with a large dog: What do you do with your pup when you're camping short term with just the RTT and no annex?

We have a CVT Mt. Shasta Extended RTT on our Jeep (XJ) Cherokee trail rig. The bottom of our tent is about 6'2" from the ground. The other day, I deployed the tent to let our 10 month old Akbash get a feel for the new trail digs, while I got a feel for how to safely stow her. First, I picked her up and stuck her up in the tent...easy enough. Getting down, she just jumped down like it was nothing.

My issue is that she's 10 months old and before our big trip to Colorado in August, she'll be 100 lbs or more. That's not something I'm comfortable picking up a thousand miles from home and a 100 miles from pavement.

Initially I started looking at modifying the roof rack, reinforcing the hood, and texturing it so that she could easily jump up on the hood and then walk into the RTT on the nights we are camping for only a few hours or one full night.

Of course, during 2-day camps, the lower annex will be installed and she'll be more than comfortable down there.

Thoughts?

Beyza and my wife for reference...
19701969_462582140770067_2815428789922889936_n.jpg

ducktapeguy

Adventurer
I like dogs and I like RTT's, but an elevated tent and a 100lb animal that can't climb a ladder don't seem to be very compatible. For short term camping couldn't she just sleep outside for the night leashed to the car or inside it?

Have you tried to extend the ladder as far as it would go and put a platform on it to form a ramp that she could walk up? The only other idea I can think of is getting one of two of these and train her to climb on her own

https://www.amazon.com/Little-Giant...coding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=BWBSYE1Y6B4S9QKVP3NJ

Last edited:

Begz