Relocate Defender to America

AussieAub

G'day guys and gals.
Newbie here to the Expedition Portal forums, currently Chairman of TeamW4 Land Rover Club here in Perth, Western Australia.

Not sure if this is the right place, but wondering how much difficulty is involved in moving my new beloved LR Defender from Perth AUS to Houston USA.
There is a STRONG possibility of a long term job offer in the new year, which would involve a relocation of my family and I to Houston, and as it's taken me so long to get my Defender dream car, I'd dearly love to take it with me!

Has anyone gone through this process, and if so, what is entailed?
I know there are differences between Australia and USA specs (not least the driving side, but that doesn't bother me too much!), but just how much might need doing to the vehicle to make it USA approved?

I've checked out the US import/customs departments web pages, but it's primarily paperwork and theoretical info, not very specific on actual physical necessities that may need applying to the Defender - fore warned is fore armed so to speak!

Thanks in advance for any advice and pointers....

Cheers.
KIEREN

IMG_0032 - Copy.JPG

Last edited:

JSBriggs

Adventurer
You can bring it in for a year on your visa, but then it must leave. Not sure of the hassle or likelihood of it being renewed for another year .

-Jeff

mallthus

Pretty good at some stuff
Unless you're going to be here less than a year, just take a deep breath and move on. It ain't gonna happen.

AussieAub

Pretty much what my own research is telling me. Bugger!
Thanks for the info though guys, appreciate your time in responding.

Can I take it Defenders are pretty hard to come by over there then?
Being devoted to the Land Rover marque, are there many second hand vehicles available, and what kind of costs for a "good one"?

matthewp

Combat Truck Monkey