Recommendations on suspension modifications on a 2020 Ram 2500 Diesel w/popup camper (1300lbs)

pkita99

Hi,

Looking at some input from the forum and people that have experience with the Ram 2500 platform on suspension mods. Currently have a 2020 Ram 2500 Diesel with a Camp X pop up camper (~1300 total weight) on the back and looking to get some suspension improvements on the rig. Car is stock except putting in firestone airbags to level the truck and help with rear sag.

Some areas I would like to get opinions on:

- AEV vs Carli or other. Which one would be best suited for the application?
- Hellwig rear/front sway bars? yay or nay?
- looking to upgrade wheels to 35's before suspension upgrade. Will this make a difference?
- anything else you guys would recommend looking into?

Appreciate all the feedback.

Thanks,

Paul

UglyViking

Everything @Regcabguy recommended is pretty spot on. I've got no experience with hauling a camper with my 2500 but I know it pretty seriously raises the COG. I'd think you can prob get away with springs from carli or thuren in the front, but I would keep the rear stock for 100% sure.

If you're running airbags but don't have the daystar cradles I'd look into those, from everything I read they are a must if you are running bags offroad.

Personally I'd stay away from the AEV lift. AEV makes some absolutely awesome stuff, but their lift is not one of them. I'd run their bumper for sure, as well as pretty much every other product they offer for the 2500 trucks, but the lift I would not.

GeorgeHayduke

We have a 2016 Ram 2500 Cummins which has more or less the same suspension as your 2020. We ran a Northstar popup for about 4 years and now have a Scout Kenai. The coil suspension isn't great for controlling camper sway but certain mods have helped. We have a hellwig rear swaybar and highly recommend it. We also run Timbrens but your airbags serve a similar purpose.