Really basic wiring questions

Icewalker

Adventurer
This is probably a no-brainer for most folks but I profess to being probably the worst person at wiring in 12v systems (You'd never believe I'm a damn good network engineer).

So I'm in the process of wiring in some lights, and ancilliaries into my truck and I'm kind of stuck on the whole wiring process. So here goes:

I have a set of front spot lights, 4 roof mounted spotlights and a pair of rear worklights.

I want to wire it in so that each pair of lights has an independant switch - so does that mean that I need 4 seperate relays?

Also on the relays there are 4 connectors 30, 85, 86, and 87. If I understand the crappy wiring diagram I got with one set of the hellas the wiring goes:

87 - fused 12v in
85 - Ground
86 - to the switch
30 - to the light

Does the switch itself need a seperate 12v in ? i.e. do I need to run power to it in order to trip the relay or is the power already provided by the 12v in?

Told ya these were basic questions - I did a search here and on the web - but couldn't find anything that really explained it to me :confused:

Anyone have a good basic diagram ?

Thanks

Jeff

slooowr6

Explorer
I want to wire it in so that each pair of lights has an independant switch - so does that mean that I need 4 seperate relays?

Yes, 1 per each pair. Make sure it has the corrrect amp rating. Take 2*55W for example, you'll need 110/12 * 1.1 = 10.1 so a 15AMP relay will be enough, and a 15 AMP fuse should be used.

Also on the relays there are 4 connectors 30, 85, 86, and 87. If I understand the crappy wiring diagram I got with one set of the hellas the wiring goes:

87 - fused 12v in
85 - Ground
86 - to the switch
30 - to the light

Does the switch itself need a seperate 12v in ? i.e. do I need to run power to it in order to trip the relay or is the power already provided by the 12v in?

Yes, you don't need a seperate 12 V for the coil. :)