R50 Nissan Pathfinder vs. Gen3 Mitsubishi Montero vs. Gen3 Toyota 4Runner

DanF.

Adventurer
I'm toying with the idea to sell my BMW 540i and purchase a DD 4x4 that would cost around $5,000. My wife owns a 2004 Pathfinder, and my brother owns a Gen3 4Runner, so I've had some experience and driving time with those two, but no experience with a Montero. I'm looking for the pros/cons of each. I'd like to do a mild build on it to give it some better offroad/camping/overland capabilities, e.g. tires, rack storage, lighting, mild suspension, etc... The follow pros/cons are not all-inclussive, and I'd appreciate whatever you guys can add to my list. FWIW, I'm going to post in the three main sub-forums (here, and in the Nissan, and Toyota) to get as much info as I can.

R50 Nissan Pathfinder

Pros: Strong engine, easy to lift 1-2", can still find manual gearbox with low miles, smaller size vehicle

Cons: Not a ton of aftermarket support, tire size limited by IFS, complex engine, not many came with factory LSD

Gen3 Mitsubishi Montero

Pros: strong driveline, very good 4wd system, can still find near-100k mile versions in good condition, lots of interior room, factory LSD

Cons: no manual gearbox for Gen3 models (?), long overall size

Gen3 Toyota 4Runner

Pros: Large aftermarket support, great reputation for toughness, can find manual gearbox versions, some came with rear diff. locker

Cons: most have 200k+ miles by now, seem to rust more, least powerful engine of the three, smallish interior

Again, feel free to add to this list, and share your opinions. I'm 6'2", and lanky, so width isn't a big concern. I like camping/mtn biking/exploring, and have a dog that'll ride in the back.

WMDunkin

Adventurer
Just keep in mind a R50 with a lift and larger tire is near Rubicon factory specs. So you can cover some good ground. I believe there is some rear diff options for R50 though.