Questions for SolidWorks Users and/or Engineering Graduates

plh

Explorer
I'm an Engineer at an automotive tier and have been for more than 20 years. We are 100% Windows for all CAD / FEA etc... My daughter just graduated (big 10 school) this weekend in Food Science Engineering. 95% Windows, 5% Linux, She had 1 biological statistics class that used a Linux only software package. That said, we bought her a Lenovo G40 for around $500 new (Windows) 5 years ago and it has survived fine. A bit slow by todays standards. When she had the statistics class I bought a used/referb Gen 2 Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon for $200 and loaded Linux on it. Worked fine for that class. We still use it at home sometimes.

A note from the learn at home issue, she came home for spring break in early March, planning to be here a week. Has been home since. Online graduation this past Saturday (kinda a joke). All of the past semesters labs were canceled, she "attended" class virtually, not great for learning. Luckily she only had 2 classes the final semester. On the plus side, she did land a decent job in her field and starts June 1.

Last edited:

GMS