Question about using Fridge/Freezer in Winter months

DiscoNels

Adventurer
This is my first year of owning a fridge. I've got my ARB 50qt fridge/freezer mounted between the rear seats of my LR3 and as the calendar heads into winter I'm questioning the proper use or storage of the ARB.

What do my Northern counterparts do with their fridges during the winter months when temps reach maybe -20F or so. Can I keep my ARB in my truck all winter? Can I use it periodically during cold periods? Any ill effects of the cold possibly damaging the fridge when not in use, or say it's below Zero and I want to use the fridge. One scenario I see is around the Holidays when traveling to see family with food or leftovers, the fridge could actually be warmer than the outside temps and keep food from freezing.

Anybody have any experience with this subject?

Thanks for any input.

dBeau

Hoopy
While mine isnt an ARB, I keep my Norcold in my truck year round. It's nice to have cold drinks and snacks regardless of the weather. The problem when the weather gets cold is that the drinks dont pour so well and all the snacks get crunchy ;)

My solution was to put a small heater (60 watts or so) inside the fridge. I built a controller to turn it on when it the temperature inside the fridge drops below 32F. It shuts off above 34F. The fridge is set to 38F so the heater doesnt fight with the compressor. The snacks are no longer crunchy and the drinks pour as they should. When it gets really cold (near 0F) the heater uses about as much juice as the compressor would on a summer day. It all worked so well that I did something very similar for the beer fridge in garage.

It's a pretty easy hack... just a couple of parts from amazon and some simple wiring. If there's any interest I'll spell it all out.

FJR Colorado

Explorer