Quality Propane Tanks for Overlanding?

jaymar

Looking to fuel a Partner Steel Cook Partner stove. Who are the players here, for well-built tanks, mounts, covers?

86scotty

Cynic
I'm not sure there are any specific 'overlanding' made tanks. Propane tanks are pretty much all made by the big players in that game and are a lot stronger than you think. Manchester, Worthington, etc. are the names you are likely to find. If you find an 'overlanding' specific one it's probably just one of theirs with a Smittybilt (or similar label) stuck on it.

Propane tanks mounted to RVs have been withstanding car wrecks, direct hits in many cases, without a problem since RVs came along.

As for mounts there are many in the overlanding world. The search bar is your friend.

jadmt

ignore button user
I have been using a 5lb Manchester for several years for my Blackstone grill and it works great and lasts a lot of uses.FAAB3CB6-67CB-47EE-B6FF-4EC2ADD86735.jpeg

dbhost

At least in the US market, specifications for propane cylinders are determined by the U.S. Department of Transportation as at some point in the life cycle these will be carrying a hazardous material over the public transportation system, I.E. highways and roads... As long as they are built to DOT standards, there really isn't much, if any difference between the bottles aside from minor cosmetic issues.

jaymar

At least in the US market, specifications for propane cylinders are determined by the U.S. Department of Transportation as at some point in the life cycle these will be carrying a hazardous material over the public transportation system, I.E. highways and roads... As long as they are built to DOT standards, there really isn't much, if any difference between the bottles aside from minor cosmetic issues.
True, but I was thinking that--as with most of the gear we use--there are going to be those manufacturers who go above and beyond...

john61ct

Adventurer