Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

kellymoe

Expedition Leader
About 2 years ago my life slowly started slide into a mire that I was totally unfamiliar with. All my life I was known as mr. laid back and never took life too seriously. I have a job that allows lots of time with my family and also lots of time doing the things I love such as climbing, ww kayaking, backcountry skiing and exploring the deserts and mountains of California. My job has also exposed me to a tone of crap. For the past 20 years I have been a firefighter/paramedic with the Los Angeles City Fire Dept. The first 10 years were spent in South Central LA and Hollywood and the last 10 years have been spent in East Los Angeles. Early on in my career I rode on rescues that averaged 25 calls in a 24 hour shift and some shifts while riding a rescue in Skid Row I ran over 30 calls a shift. Needless to say I saw a lot of horrible stuff that I couldn't even make up if I tried. I got along well for 18 years on gallows humor, youth and an understanding and loving wife. Then things started to change. I responded to a child choking. I had been on several child choking calls in the past but this one was tough. A 7 y/o girl was choking on a ball and we were having a tough time getting it out with the laryngoscope and forceps. I almost broke down in tears right there. This was a new feeling. I went home and cried for the first time in my career. Scared and confused I didnt tell anyone. I started to dread the alarm. Fires were fine because it's always physical and very fun, it's why you become a fireman, right? But EMS calls started to dredge up memories of old calls I had been on years ago.