Please Check My Wiring Diagram

Jerkeejoe

I'm an absolute noob when it comes to this stuff, but I've done a fair amount of research and think I have a setup that will work.

The idea is to have everything except for the fuse box and solar panels on/in a cart like this one: Rolling Cart so that I'll be able to take power dang near anywhere I can lug this setup. The solar panels will be hinged together to make a portable setup. The fuse box will be permanently mounted to the trailer.

I'm thinking I'll connect the charge controller to the fuse box and inverter using Anderson connectors or something similar so that I can simply unplug from the fuse box and be completely disconnected from the trailer. Not on the drawing are disconnect switches that I will wire between the solar and the charge controller and between the batteries and the charge controller.

Trailer Wiring Diagram.png

Your inverter will likely have to connect directly to battery.
Charge controllers "load" output is usually limited to or less than whatever maximum of charge controller.
In your scheme, thats likely 30A, so dont expect an inverter much over 250W of inverter output.
Yes. I would directly connect the inverter to the batteries. There will be too much of a load on the charge controller. That's how I have my setup. I used the output on the charge controller to run led lights and a 12v fan.

Sent from my WJ

Jerkeejoe

That makes sense. So, charge controller will connect direct to batteries, and inverter will connect directly to batteries (with a disconnect switch between batteries and inverter).

Otherwise everything good? Ok to use Anderson connectors to connect portable solar/battery/charge controller setup to fuse box installed on trailer?

Alloy

If you want to add a battery monitor in the future run all the neg to a common point (bus bar or stud on he chassis) then run 1 neg to the battery. Later on this wire can be cut and a shunt installed.