Onboard Water Logistics

jnack

I'm new to the whole onboard water thing, and have a few logistical questions:

1. What are options for filling tanks? If you have a connection for hose fill-up, what is the method to ensure it doesn't over-flow just a high mounted over-flow tubing?
  2. To keep things simple, I was planning on primarily using my onboard water as both potable and shower/cleaning water. Though, I do like the idea of being able to access a water source near camp as well. I don't think I want to bother with a full filtration set-up as I don't intend to rely on this for water. My question here is IF I just use a small micro filter (mainly for sediment), and plug this non-filtered water via the pump will I end up totally contaminating the whole system? Basically, is it even feasible to do this or would I have to have two pumps/tubing: 1 for potable tank water and 1 for external water source that is not potable?
  3. What are my options for remote tank level gauges (sight gauge won't work for my application)? And remote temperature gauges?

Thanks!

LandCruiserPhil

Expedition Leader
Tank gauges are not costly and it will also let you know when it’s full. Have you determined your water needs? I use only filter water stored in 4 places and being RO water it works for everything. Because it’s RO water it reduces tank contamination and growth inside the tank.

PunchitChewie

What are my options for remote tank level gauges (sight gauge won't work for my application)? And remote temperature gauges?