On board air: Anyone running York or similar setup?

v_man

Explorer
I'm looking into running a York or Sanden compressor off my 22re in my 1990 'Runner . I don't have A/C so no problem running the compressor off the motor . From the research I've done , the biggest hurdle is fabbing a bracket to mount the compressor to the engine block . My query is : has anyone here done this? Is anyone running a York and if so , how much of a headache was it to get going ?

I'm still weighing the pro's and con's , but I love a good project . I've been hauling around a 20# Co2 tank for a few years but it's heavy , it takes up room inside , it's basically a bomb although I secure the hell out of it , and I need to refill it about every 3 off road trip (37" tires).

I'm not really interested in VIAIR or other such electric compressor , they just don't have the CFM's I'm looking for . Ideally I'd have the York filling a 5 gallon tank after it's all said and done .

Thoughts? 10 cfm sounds pretty nice :sombrero:

oba06.JPG

Last edited:

mike the welder

Adventurer
This is something I would also be interested in. It seems the 12 volt compressors have to be treated with kid gloves not to over heat them and the performance is directly proportional with price.

I think someone even sells a bracket to bolt it to your 22RE.

The biggest problem with running a your is the oiling. A/C systems have a lubricant in with the refrigerant so by just using it as an air pump, there's no lubrication. I know plenty of people who have run these and they are cool. You can even run a air impact if needed. But I also know that a couple people have burned them up because of lack of lubrication.

john doe

I have a 22re york bracket I can sell you. I never got around to installing it, then switched to a 3.4 so the bracket will no longer work for me.

MotoDave

Explorer
I think someone even sells a bracket to bolt it to your 22RE.