Newbie here w/his first off road trailer

Jason Magee

Hi gang,

My name is Jason, I’m new to forums and off road trailers. Happy to have found this wonderful site as it seems to be a wealth of info.

I recently purchased a trailer and wanted to get everyone’s thoughts on it. It’s very basic and was smaller than most I looked at which is what I needed. The trailer has 3500lb axle with a leaf spring suspension, 35” tires(which seem a bit big as I only run 33” on my truck) and a 2 person tent. I was told it weighs roughly 500lbs.

So far I like the trailer and am looking forward to making some mods. My only real complaint is the hard bouncing over any and all bumps.

I’ve read a few posts abt getting these rigs to ride smoother. I can’t figure out what my springs are rated for and was wondering if y’all could help with that. There are no info markings or stamps on them. I’d love to be able to get the terrible bounce out. My first step is to get the tongue closer to level and it sits roughly 5 inches lower than my truck receiver.

What’s everyone’s opinions on adding shocks and the proper leaf spring set up?

Attachments

• 4287E65A-18EB-4381-930A-89154CE55FEA.jpeg
    4287E65A-18EB-4381-930A-89154CE55FEA.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 149
  • 84F3770F-8CDA-4A13-8C38-093C551CC5E7.jpeg
    84F3770F-8CDA-4A13-8C38-093C551CC5E7.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 141
  • 7676A05A-10FA-45BF-9871-FFDEFABB664C.jpeg
    7676A05A-10FA-45BF-9871-FFDEFABB664C.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 134
  • A6F74B01-E674-4B05-939D-E2DE846E14E6.jpeg
    A6F74B01-E674-4B05-939D-E2DE846E14E6.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 134

mudraider

Adventurer
Thoughts on shocks? Needed. Otherwise, what will happen? The trailer is just sitting on the spring, waiting to bounce when it hits something. Wondering why it's so light. I'd get shocks on it, see how it rides, then mess with springs.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

ottsville

Observer