New older vehicle for the lady. Suv hunt

Found out I'm gonna be a father come december. Want to start looking for the girl a cheaper suv but still something I can drive. Ive seen several 04 ish volvo xc90s and volkswagen toureg s in my price range. Im a fairly good mechanic and i prefer not having a large car payment so im sure i can maintain them well past what they have on them already. Question is what to get and why. Any thoughts. Needs to be 4x4 or AWD at minimum. Am I missing any 5 grand ish Suvs that are good soft roaders that she would like.

Somecallmetimm

Adventurer
My $0.02

What about a Grand Cherokee? Cherokees will be cheaper and they're capable, but they're not huge on interior space.

Stay away from Xterra's. Great vehicles, but the back doors are such that it's difficult to get a car seat in and out, especially when the kid is in a carrier.

If you're looking for something a little less capable, consider the Ford Escape, or Honda CRV. Small, capable of getting into and out of tight spaces, relatively decent mileage, both available in AWD.

Or you can go the Subaru route. But that'll likely push your price limits.

My $0.02

What about a Grand Cherokee? Cherokees will be cheaper and they're capable, but they're not huge on interior space.

Stay away from Xterra's. Great vehicles, but the back doors are such that it's difficult to get a car seat in and out, especially when the kid is in a carrier.

If you're looking for something a little less capable, consider the Ford Escape, or Honda CRV. Small, capable of getting into and out of tight spaces, relatively decent mileage, both available in AWD.

Or you can go the Subaru route. But that'll likely push your price limits.

A grand is on the list but the problem is the WJ is plagued with problems and the gas mileage is TERRIBLE i had one that i sold because it would only get 13mpg. They are also expensive in a 4x4 around here.
xterras are out for the reasons you listed.