New here in need of some direction

Sandcoma

Ok guys so quick run down ive spent the past few years in a toyota tacoma with roof top tent and camper shell. Tired of the payments so ill be getting rid of it within a few weeks. ( lease )

Have wanted to get a van for awhile now and finally am able to being lease is coming up. Im a forklift technician by trade so have the tools/mechanic skill to have a bit of a project.

This van will not be my every day driver but primarily used on weekends for camping/traveling.

There are two local listing near me and I seriously cannont decide on which route would be better to go.

First option is a 99 E350 with a 7.3 that has 258k miles on the clock
Body is in decent shape with a couple dents and light surface rust spots. Interor in in excellent shape. Priced at 5750 and 6 hour drive away

Second option is a 01 chevy 3500 passenger van with the Quigley conversion. Has 214k on the clock. And van is equally to the ford as far as exterior and interior condition. Priced at 3500 and 45min drive away

If i went with the ford a 4x4 conversion would be put into works.

The chevy just needs some tlc and a little lift

Obviously both vans will be guted and interior will be built out. Possibly goinng with pop tops aswell

My question is what would make more sense go with the gas burner with 4x4 or go with the iconic diesel that needs 4x4 conversion.

Thanks for any advice!

OverlandNA

The Ford appears to be less abused in the pics provided. Do either have service records available?
It sounds like $$ is a concern. Are you ready to dive in to the bottomless pit of high mileage vans?

Sandcoma

The money side isnt a huge deal as far as after the initial purchase. The ford does appear to be in decent shape. It was used for work.

The chevy is owned by a family with 10 kids and was used to haul them around.

The guy with the chevy says he has always had it serviced. Not sure if there is records to prove. He has had t since 160k miles.