Mounting a hard shell RTT

Wallygator

Adventurer
Well my tent is on it's way and I need some advice since I have no experience with mounting a tent. I have a full length rack on a 4Runner with 10 cross bars in all. The tent is an aluminum hard shell with four mounting rails running the length of the tent.

Should I put down rubber on each cross bar of the rack (or the four tent rails) to dampen the connection between the tent and rack or just mount it directly to the rack?

I have heard rumors that these things can be noisy, is this true? Thinking this rubber could also protect the powder coating on the rack? Am I over thinking this?

Any other tips I need to know?

Thanks!

Last edited:

shoredreamer

Observer
What rack and what tent exactly? A very thin rubber strip shouldn’t hurt. If there are 10 crossbars and only 2 are clamped to the tent, there may be a chance of vibration between the remaining 8 bars.

Lemsteraak

Adventurer
I don't know much about the aluminum hard shelled tents because they are so new. We did a lot of tests on the fiberglass ones, specifically AutoHome tents, everything from crash tests to aerodynamics.