Most affordable, fuel efficient 4x4 set up

Hey Everyone,

New to the forum from Alberta Canada, I currently just have a Mazda CX-5 that I have been exploring in for the last three years which has been ok. I am currently looking for a new set up and was hoping to get some suggestions for setups and the pros and cons. I am kind of leaning towards a truck and some kind of canopy (maybe custom (any suggestions on fabricators in Alberta?) Below is my criteria

- Affordable - about $40000 max Canadian
- Fairly fuel efficient as I typically have to drive a few hours to spots
- 4x4 for offroad and snow
- Be able to sleep in - Two people and a small dog
- Be able to keep most gear in it so i can hit the road any time
- Entire setup has to be under 7' as my only parking spot is in a parkade

Thanks in advance! Alsio if you want check out my instagram account @roveadventures

vartz04

Adventurer
GMC Canyon all terrain or Chevy Colorado z71. Get the diesel and the Crew Cab with the long bed. Also will need a topper for the back. Depending on your size and the wife and the dogs size you could build a platform above the wheel wells. And have a 6+’ long by 52ish inch wide sleeping platform.

The z71 has a msrp of just over $41k in that configuration so you should be able to get it under $40k. If not you could get the LT and it be around $38k. Or look for used.

It gets great mileage (25-30 mpg highway) and can handle towing 7700 lbs.

The ranger is also an option but you can’t get the long bed with the crew cab. Toyota real world gas mileage is not that great in the Tacoma.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk