Montero Misfire Help

Ashton_59

Hello all, I posted a thread not too long ago about a mysterious p0300 code, on my 2003 Mitsubishi montero. Since then I bought a obd2 reader and pulled the freeze frames, which many people had told me to do. I’m not really good with reading results, so I thought I should ask for any advice. And it turns out there are not p0300 codes being thrown at this point. But instead, a p0113, p0303, and p0102. I will post a few pictures below of the codes and data, thank you all for your time!

Attachments

• 639A0486-C4F6-4984-AD7A-C62FB0C54736.jpeg
    639A0486-C4F6-4984-AD7A-C62FB0C54736.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 13
  • 99E52F3E-2D08-4FA0-BEE7-1D3894ED42C2.jpeg
    99E52F3E-2D08-4FA0-BEE7-1D3894ED42C2.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 12
  • B0581915-195D-4C2C-A912-419A4DB423FC.jpeg
    B0581915-195D-4C2C-A912-419A4DB423FC.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 13
  • A6AB3B51-4562-47DE-8F36-54798729A7AE.jpeg
    A6AB3B51-4562-47DE-8F36-54798729A7AE.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 13
  • 02253B3C-DBB6-436E-9534-AC32A4DD59DD.jpeg
    02253B3C-DBB6-436E-9534-AC32A4DD59DD.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 11
  • 17E2A6D0-7E01-4A49-9F6F-4EB7B74BA03A.jpeg
    17E2A6D0-7E01-4A49-9F6F-4EB7B74BA03A.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 10

nwoods

Expedition Leader
So, from an armchair mechanic position, the P0303 is the same as the P0300 code you had before, but more specific down to a certain cylinder, which is helpful.

The other two codes sound like the Mass Airflow Sensor is dirty or possibly failing. This is the sensor assembly within the air intake that sits just down stream of the air filter. Easy to access, easy to clean with MAF spray, carb cleaner, or even brake cleaner spray. Clear the codes using your ODBII reader, then pull the sensor out, Hit it with the spray, wipe it clean with a clean rag, reinsert, and run the engine a bit (15 minutes) and re-check the codes.