Medications & Supplies for Pan Am trip

Ruined Adventures

Brenton Cooper
I've been going over my medical kit lately...driving to South America and back in 2012 and I'm wondering if I should add anything. I'm an EMT-B and my girlfriend is a Trauma Rn so between the two of us we're trained to handle a fairly wide range of medical situations. I'm taking an EMT-I class right now to add a couple new skills and refresh some of my medical knowledge. There may be parts of the trip when we'll have to play doctor on each other (get your mind out of the gutter). We've even considered volunteering our services in remote villages, but liability issues scare me too much.

I've been told that even taking prescription meds across the border is a no-no. I was wondering if any of you have first hand knowledge or experience in the matter. I'd like to pick up some IV supplies, but would the police give me a hard time over a bag of solution of normal saline? Would they see needles and assume it's for illegal drugs? Should I just hit up the first pharmacia in Mexico and stock up on what we'd need or find fluids beforehand? Would that open me up to interrogations if policia search me? Right now the plan is to throw away any meds before crossing into Mexico (unless it's just baby aspirin). I suppose I could try to get written permission from some high-ranking officials, but I don't even know where I'd begin...

Surely there's a backcountry guide on Expo who's been in charge of medical logistics for their group, and dealt with these issues. Let me know what you think?

Caduceus

Adventurer
First off, all opinion:

I think most of the OTC stuff should be OK, if it's in original bottles. Same for prescription drugs. But, I'd really try to avoid IV stuff of any sort. Yeah, an angiocath isn't for shooting up, but a cop probably won't know that. Plus, barring trauma, you should be OK with either PO or PR re-hydration.