Mean Green Alternator For First Gen Tacoma?

Dusty T.

Observer
I've been running a 180A DC Power alternator for about two years, and noticed that the lower adjusting bracket is cracked. The alternator never quite fit up perfectly to the adjuster bar. I had been following another 1st Gen Tacoma owner with the same issue HERE....

The case hasn't cracked on mine, but am looking for a replacement anyway. What a bummer, because the unit was far from cheap and DC Power makes what looks to be a very good product.

Not many options out there so I'm now looking at Mean Green. Any fist hand experiences, especially with the 3.4 applications? Their website gives no information on output specs, so a phone call to them revealed that they offer two flavors- a 140A and 220A! The 140A case is the stock size, with the 220A having a larger case. I've read good things about them but have a couple questions....

1. Should I expect more broken adjustment brackets with higher output alternators due to added stress required to spin one of these?

2. I feel that my current 180A DC Power alt is the perfect size to keep the dual batteries charged, fridge, and stereo running. Looking to add a couple lights, provisions for a travel trailer (brakes, charging batteries, etc), and possibly a winch in the future.... Would 220A be a better choice or overkill?

Thanks for the help. Would rather not need to get this right the third time :)

Nate_gb

No first hand experience for you, unfortunately. But I'm also in the market for a HO alternator for my third gen 4runner and have come across the mean green name before so I'm curious what the response will be as well.