Manley ORV 2020 Extreme

woe_bonnet

Hi everybody! This is my first time on this site... new user. I'm wondering if any of you have thoughts to share regarding the Manley ORV Extreme trailer?

My spouse and I have, for a few months now, been looking at compact, towable mini-trailers we could use as a mobile base-camp. Scratch-building is not currently an option, so commercial packages (or used custom rigs) are what we've been limiting ourselves to.

We're not overlanders (not averse to it... but we do not own an appropriate tow vehicle to do it, and aren't going to invest in one anytime soon), and need to keep things light enough for our Subaru Impreza wagon. We ran into the Taxa Woollybear, and the Manley ORV series, as possible fits. We priced-out a Woollybear (adding an RTT etc.), and ended up north of $17K CAD pretty quickly. Then there would be shipping from TX, customs/duties etc. to get it into Canada.

I've since run into an option to pick up a brand new, on-the-pallet 2020 Manley Extreme for $6K CAD, just a couple Provinces away from me.

The Manley ticks most of the boxes for us, gives us a nice platform for customization, and having a utility trailer would be great. Also, the price seems bananas good. Any of you familiar with this model, and have experience to share? Or even just folks who own newer Manleys, that can comment on their durability?

The Manley ORV N. American site is not updated currently, but here is a link to the Aussie site, which shows the Extreme model.

Thanks!

Last edited:

woe_bonnet

Also, as long as I'm here... and on the topic of towing capacities. I seem to have run my head into the ground in terms of understanding whether our Subaru Impreza can, indeed, haul a small trailer (such as a MORV) with our camping gear. Every time I think I understand the figures, I see another "simple explanation" article on the internet that uses slightly different acronyms, or adds another concept, and it seems to fall apart.