Looking for thoughts on truck for hauling camper

flounder

Hi all,

I am new to most of all this. I have been looking into what I want to get for a road trip and found the Northstar campers to be very desirable for the cost and what you get. I have found a very clean 2017 I am likely going to make a deal on. However, I will require a larger rig so been looking at some F350s. I am looking at a couple and wanted to see what others have for experience as a camper hauler from these. So the contenders:

2007 F-350 lariat crew cab with a full bulletproofing in last year or so. Also has 3" lift and level kit with 20" wheels. It is a long bed. Low miles at 90,000. Looked at it today and everything is very clean for year. Asking is at $26,500 with all receipts. They seem pretty stuck on that price but maybe haggle down a few hundred.

2012 F-350 XLT w/ 85,000. Pretty much bone stock, I believe long bed as well. Asking is $30,900 (probably can haggle down a little bit)

I like the '07 runs great good power, haven't test drove the '12 yet though. I like that the '07 is pre DEF and all that but not too hard over on that. I am not certain a lifted truck makes much difference with a camper one way or another? I hope to get this setup off road so the lift has some appeal but of course that could be added to the '12 for a cost. Is there something i am not thinking of?

Thanks for any input!

calicamper

Expedition Leader
Lifted and hard side heavy camper? Do you or your usual passengers get car sick? Possibly the worst camping trip I ever took was in a lifted full size with hard side camper.

If your going lightweight popup camper thats a different story.

My cousin collects F350’s not sure why. But he has a thing for them. Most are lifted when he gets them pretty much all of them need major suspension rebuild and junk lifts removed the BRO Truck thing has messed up allot of great trucks.