Lets talk welders and tools

Sikocycles

Adventurer
Ok so these awesome threads gave me the bug to build a trailer. I have no welding experience so I know i will need to practice some.
I would like to know what you guys use for welders so I know what I will need to buy. I cant spend a boat load into the welder because the wife would flip out. I also see those red arrow magnets alot of people use. Who makes those?

There is one of these at a local pawn shop for $300 and wondering if it is adequate for weld up a frame and everything else?
http://www.craftsman.com/craftsman-...00P?sid=IDxCMDFx20140801x001&KPID=00920569000

Thank you

Cummins_expo

Adventurer
http://weldfabulous.com/ Drool away

Now lets talk welder and tools:

This greatly depends on your budget. But many will chime in with buy it once and buy quality.

Hand tools- Craftsman is great for the weekend warrior. Good return policy through Sears/Kmart
Harbor Freight- Good for cheap tools you will destroy or loose ( electronics are a gamble)

Welding- Blue or Red ! pick what is supported by your local welding shop - this way you never have to worry about consumables on the weekend in the middle of a project. Personally I think the Lincoln 180mig is the best bang for the buck. I have one that is 10 years old and has been bounced around a chase truck, borrowed by friends, forgotten outside, and abused.. It still burns metal down like butter. This line up is supported by most of the big box home stores ( Lowes/ Homedepot) this is great when sunday afternoon you mess up your last .030 tip.

Miller electric makes outstanding welders as you jump into the higher end machines. I ran 4 miller 252's 6 days a week 8-10 hours a day.. These are workhorses and probably WAY overkill.

One other brand to consider is Yellow- ESAB not as popular as the above but incredibly powerful/reliable consumables might be harder to find.