Kenworth K270/K370 and Peterbilt Model 200 4x4 Conversion and Misc Questions

TheFlyHighKid

Hi Y'All,

I'm coming from full timing in a 170EXT 4x4 Sprinter (now sold). I wonder if the big brains here can answer a few questions I have about possibly jumping to a DAF/Kenworth/Peterbilt COE chassis with a habitat box?

1. Anyone know who GXV uses to convert their Kenworth's to 4x4? I know that several companies CAN do this with these trucks, but I'd prefer to go with the one that has more experience.

2. Insurance: Has anyone DIYd one of these? No possible way I can afford a GXV build and I'm a fairly competent builder. If you've DIYd one, was the process of getting it certified/classified as an RV straightforward? Looks like about $2-3k/year for RV insurance on a build valued around $200K?

3. If you hired someone to mount the box (with suspension/flex), who did you use? ITB (International Truck Body)? Overland Adventure Truck? Cost?

4. How is freeway cruising in these? Anyone regularly cruise at 75mph? Too fast...better at 65mph? Noise vs a Sprinter or F-350?

5. Confirm MPG of around 8-9mpg?

6. Recommend M+S 22.5 duals or go to the MPT singles? I'm leaning toward keeping the duals since it would make travel and replacement abroad easier. And keep the max speeds up.

Thanks in advance!

gregmchugh

Observer
I think it is common knowledge now that Tulsa Truck Manufacturing has been doing the 4x4 conversion for the GXV Kenworth K-370 chassis.

We have the 425 size Goodyear G278 super singles on ours. The max speed for these tires is 68 mph and I cruise at 65 on the interstate and 55 on secondary roads. At our weight of around 28,000 lb we get 8-9 mph on the highway. It is definitely not overpowered at this weight and you will slow down on hills and be going slow in the mountains in the right lane with the loaded semis. We are retired and in no hurry so it works fine for us.