Jeep TJ frame rust. Is it worth replacing?

amo292

Adventurer
Hello all, I am new to the jeep section of the form and have a few questions for you guys. Im sure this this topic has been beaten to death before but I have a dilemma with a rusted frame on my fathers TJ. I know this is a common issue with the Tj's and we have kept an eye on it but today it popped up in an unexpected location. Going down a dirt road the entire crossmember holding the trans and transfer case dropped out. I crawled underneath and discovered that the holes where the plate should mount were much bigger than they were supposed to be. I was able to limp it home using only 1st, 3rd, and 5th gear and now she sits.
IMG_0966.jpgIMG_0965.jpgIMG_0964.jpg

The pictures don't really do the rust justice. There is actually quite a bit more than you can see.

My question is, is it worth it to fix? I did a full inspection and found that it is pretty much the entire rear half that will need work. The jeep its self is a 2000 4cyl wrangler with 51,000 easy miles. We are the original owners. This jeep hasn't been babied but it hasn't been abused. It just recently had 3k worth of exterior work put into it from a minor deer collision. This included a full repaint top to bottom and new fenders and flares. Everything else with the jeep is in good working order.

So what do you guys think? What is the best approach to take with this?

Thanks for your help in advance!

siebermd

Adventurer
Id fix it, you cant put her out to pasture just yet. If you have the time and resources, do a frame off restoration/repair of the affected areas. If you dont have the resources (shop), it would be a shame to loose the vehicle for what looks to be not too difficult of a repair.

Oman4x4

Laurie Bridger
Whether it's worth it or not? Depends on a few variables...

1) Sentimental Value?

2) How cheap can you pick up a used frame in good condition?