Is it possible to get one of these hightop TroopCarriers (or reasonable facsimile) in North America?

TooSteep

Observer
TroopCarrier.JPG

I 'think' this is my dream vehicle. They are relatively common in Australia, but I have never seen one here in Canada. What is the closest thing to this in North America? I like the reliability, the ruggedness, the compact overall dimensions, and the extra height. I can visualize an interior build that would fit our needs perfectly. But I have never run across anything like this while searching Craigslist and Kijiji here.

In Canada, we have access to 2003 and older JDM cars. There are loads of Land Cruisers on there, but no TroopCarriers from what I can tell (are they unique to Australia?). Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to this and trying to get my head around the gap between the practical vehicles you see in Oz, and those that are available here.

lugueto

Adventurer
They aren't unique to Australia, but they are utility vehicles.

You're more likely to find them in places where remote, unsupported work is common. Mining & logging operations, third-world-country road systems are your best places to look.

Those high tops aren't factory. They're usually fiberglass aftermarket replacements. Maybe you can import one of the states and get yourself a "regular" troopie to transplant it to?

battleaxe

Captain Obvious
There's nothing in North America that comes close to this, aside from maybe a Sprinter van.

Import one?

Expedition goals.
For the price of import I would think you could get something made by a van hightop shop. We have a shop down here in San Diego, fiberine vans, that does all sorts of molds/shapes.

Set on hightop over pop top?

TonyLC

Importing and building a Troopy isn't all that difficult. Just don't expect a showroom condition rig. These were used as workhorses. You'll need to fix stuff and mod it to your liking.

Dog_River