I know better, but I'll ask anyway - why not MRE's

mutineer

I know all the drawbacks
I had to eat them for a living once
They pack heavy
If you eat a lot of them pack some ex lax
A an absurd amount of packacging that does not burn (well, they burn lik old tires)

But
The food is getting a lot better for the most part and they AR easy to prep and the cleanup is wad it up and toss it

In most situations a big part of a great day cooking a great meal with the days catch is nirvana

But on a ****ty rainy day all you want is one easy hot and to crawl into the cot

So, this can't be the first time anyone has asked

But why not stuff a case of MRE's in then truck on the run out to ouray

93BLAZER

Explorer
I have no problem with MRE's. In fact, contrary to what you posted above (the take up a lot of room) I find that they fit great in my pack. The new MRE'S taste great, can be heayed easily with the enclosed heater. No problems whatsoever with MRE's. I must say that I will eat the "MILITARY" MRE's. The "not for resale" in the heavy duty cardboard box.

FLYFISHEXPERT

LivingOverland.com
I keep a couple of MRE packages in the 4Runner for emergency purposes, but why eat MRE's when you can eat like this?

DSC_7234.JPG

DSC_5158.JPG

DSC_5350_01.JPG

A little preparation at home can save a bunch of time when you are out in the field!

Last edited:

billwilson

Adventurer
food

I would vote for MRE's in a Bail out sitch
Been meaning to get some to put in my Sportmobile as back up

As for at home prep:
The wife pre cooks alot of stuff and
goes into plastic fridge boxes
- A quick stir in the pot or micro
- Cooking pre marinated/cut up over the fire
Quick and easy espcially for a 3-4 day trip

Our first (not last) long trip (14 nights)
- we only resupplied once (coffee, creamer, ice cream, cookies & redbox)
- we had enought staples for her to spend a couple of hours re stocking
the plastic boxes
- that trip we carried a ice chest mounted outside