Howdy y'all...Another new Mitsu convert.

B.N.Z.MTNS

Elevation 8,500’
Hey everyone,
I'm new to the forum, I've been hanging out off and on but never had much to talk about on here until recently. I'm new to Monteros, but not new to off-road adventures.

I grew up in the back of a 1980 Jeep Cherokee in the mluntains of Colorado and 4wd had been a staple in my life ever since. I've had several different rigs over the years and sold them as budget dictated to move on to the next project. Just a couple years ago I finished building a K5 Blazer and had it just how I wanted. However, it was more of a redneck rock rig than a family friendly adventure rig. We also were saving money to adopt a baby boy, so the toys had to go.

I miss it, but now I have found a great compromise in our new Mitsu. I have been on the hunt for a more family oriented 4wd at a reasonable price. I was of course looking at all the offerings from Toyota and Jeep, but out where we live, all the mainstream brands are trendy and I didn't want to just fit in to what's cool. As my search broadened and I started liking what I was seeing on here.

Well, as luck would have it, I stumbled across a clean coil sprung 95'. This thing was owned by an older couple since new. When the husband died, the wife just used it for drives to the hair dressers and doctor appointments. Otherwise it sat in the garage staying pretty. There is not one dent in the body, or a single stain on the inside. Everything works perfectly and she had receipts for every service ever done on it, including 2 timing belts. Its got 201,000 miles on it but it looks like its only got 10,000. If that wasn't enough, somehow there was 2 factory service manuals that came with it.

So, needless to say, I'll be posting up with progress pics and questions if my research can't answer for me. It won't be a build per se, but more of a mild family fun machine. Something to navigate around our local mountains and the occasional long weekend camping trip.