Howdy guys

kayak

I'm a college student with Cerebral Palsy and and a love of fishing. As a result of the CP I use a Segway for mobility purposes, but I cannot fly with it. Because of this, I'm hoping to build a 4x4 camper van to use as a mobile fishing base camp, as well as doing some light overlanding in order to reach remote fishing spots. I've been looking into the e-series sportsmobiles, as well as 4x4 VW vans, sprinters, etc. Not looking at something like a unicat, as the predominance of my miles will be highway; but for that periodic remote trout trip the 4x4 would be nice. The van will be a loooong ways off, but I just thought I'd stop in and say hello.
PS, they're missing a segway category in the two wheeled overland vehicle section:D
16333_1202869005660_1646640084_521553_5390308_n.jpg

-kayak

Last edited:

offroadcamperguy

Supporting Sponsor
You're awesome!

Hey Kayak....

Welcome to the Portal! I am pretty new here too, and I'm just learning how to get around and navegate the system. Happy to have tripped over your post.

My dad is in a wheelchair and he goes fishing all the time. He has rigged up a motorhome/toyhauler style so that he can roll in through the garage door ramp and use the rig just great. He rides a John Deer Gator ATV to get down to the water and fish. So, you're on the right track for sure.

Your Segway in our picture looks killer! Did you help design or modify it to be so 4x4ish?

We build custom truck campers normally, but we have done custom work of just about every type (see attached photos for some examples), so when you get closer to acting on your eventual dreams/plans feel free to call me up and we'll see if there is any way that I can help put it all together!

Talk Soon, stay cool,

Robby
picture.php
[/IMG]

picture.php

jcbrandon

Explorer
Welcome aboard, kayak. You'll find lots of great folks here along with some inspiration and ideas. That is the baddest looking Segway I've ever seen. Can you tell us more about it?